Big changes and the NSDCC Christmas Market

Woo! It’s been a while, but I’ve been oh so busy… First off, I had a baby. Little Maple Lux came into our lives early in the morning on Saturday November 8th riding in on the tails of some beautifully cold air and bright sunshine. She’s without a doubtΒ the coolest and most chill little creature I’ve ever met. Life is surprisingly the same but utterly different. Here we are writing this blog post with cheesy giddy smiles:

Photo on 2014-11-28 at 11.54 AM

Maple came along at a pretty crazy time, the height of the holiday craft show season. I pretty much finished my stock before her due date, but towards the end of my pregnancy, those last few weeks, I (as well as my partner) could not concentrate on a damn thing… So hard to stay focused, all we could do was go on long long walks and watch netflix… So I didn’t get everything done in time, BUT some magical grandma elves swooped in and saved the day! Both my mum and my partners mum arrived in Halifax right after Maple was born and whipped up all of my last minute tasks; making mini books, ornaments, building my set up and feeding us delicious food πŸ™‚ Needless to say, I could not have pulled off last weekends NSDCC Christmas Market without these ladies and my wonderful partner.

Here is my mother in law pouring us all a much needed glass of wine and my mom working away at mini books:

nanaSOO

2014-11-17 17.00.10

 

In the end, the show was fantastic! Maple was such a trooper, she pretty much rocked the entire 3 days all the while winning the hearts of everyone who saw her. So proud of this little one…

Here’s a slideshow of the event..

 

Actually made an effort to go around and snap some photos now that I had a crew working for me!

So getting all ready for this weekends Halifax Crafters Society’s Holiday Market! Three days this year in honour of its 10th anniversary. I do know they are on the lookout for some swell volunteers, so do get in touch if you want to be a part of the magic!

HC_Poster_FB-1

 

Author: mulemotherbooks

I own and operate Mule Mother Books- an independent bookbindery specializing in handmade multi purpose books that make life a little more organized. In addition I also do limited edition custom publishing, teach book making workshops and do book repair in my home studio in the North End of Halifax, Nova Scotia. Aside from my full time bookbinding gig, I am a full time momma and part time house cleaner, and as if all this did not keep my busy enough, I also love some good ole home fermentation, making art, diddling stringed instruments and singing a tune... Once upon a time I trained as a jazz vocalist and still thoroughly enjoy busting out my pipes from time to time when the spirit moves me.

2 thoughts on “Big changes and the NSDCC Christmas Market”

  1. Hello, I purchased a book from you about two years ago at the Arts Market in Toronto. I was wondering if you have any place where I can make a purchase. That sketchbook turned out really nice and I’m looking forward to getting another one started. Let me know! Thanks

    1. Hey there! Oh that’s wonderful, I have a few sketchbooks on my Etsy shop (as you see I’m no longer in TO!) and if you don’t see anything you like there I can do a custom book for you no problem! Have a look in the shop (Etsy.com/MuleMotherBooks) and if you haven’t found anything, you can email me at mulemotherbooks @gmail.com and we can start a custom one.
      Thanks so much for your interest! All the best.

Leave a Reply

